GObike News

May 8, 2020

A Call for Open Streets During COVID-19


This bike month, GObike introduces Better Streets, Better Buffalo, a resident-driven demand for safer streets. 

For decades, streets have been designed primarily for cars. We believe they should be designed for people. 


Too many people are being killed or injured on our streets. Many more feel that speeding traffic makes their neighborhoods unsafe. Residents avoid walking, biking, or playing outside for fear of becoming a casualty of streets that don’t support our communities.


We envision instead a  happy, healthy, and connected city where every person is able to get safely and easily where they need and want to go—no matter how they choose to get there. 


Our first ask of the City of Buffalo is to open our streets to allow more space for people to be outside during the COVID-19 crisis and subsequent reopening. 

Our parks and trails are too full, and our sidewalks are too narrow for social distancing.  We need to open our streets to create safe public spaces in every community. 


Join us in our call to action. Here’s what you can do: 

  • Voice Your Support: Sign our pledge to show your support opening our streets to create more space in our communities to be safely outside. 
  • Be Social: Share your experiences of crowded parks, trails, and sidewalks with #betterstreetsbflo. 
  • Record and Report: Report incidents and issues with filled parks, trails, and sidewalks to your councilmember and Mayor Brown. 


Draft Communication for Councilmember and Mayor Brown: 


Dear [Councilmember or Mayor Brown]: 

We need more space for people to be outside during the COVID-19 crisis.

Our parks and trails are too full, and our sidewalks too narrow for social distancing.  We need to open our streets to create safe public spaces in every community.

Throughout the country and around the world, cities are limiting access for motor vehicles on residential streets to create more space for people walking and biking to safely meet essential needs and recreate to maintain their emotional and physical health and well-being. 

We urge the City of Buffalo to join forward-thinking cities from across the globe in creating more space for people to safely walk and bike during the pandemic by limiting vehicular traffic on residential streets. 

Thank you for your consideration, 

[Your name]

[Your municipality]


Contact information: 

Mayor Byron Brown: mayor@city-buffalo.com

Darius G. Pridgen - Ellicott District: dpridgen@city-buffalo.com

David A. Rivera - Niagara District: darivera@city-buffalo.com

Christopher Scanlon - South District: cscanlon@city-buffalo.com

Joel P. Feroleto - Delaware District: jferoleto@city-buffalo.com

Bryan Bollman - Lovejoy District: bbollman@city-buffalo.com

Mitch Nowakowski - Fillmore District: mnowakowski@city-buffalo.com

Joseph Golombek, Jr. - North District: jgolombek@city-buffalo.com

Ulysees O. Wingo, Sr. - Masten District: uwingo@city-buffalo.com

Rasheed Wyatt - University District: rwyatt@city-buffalo.com 

 

A Call for Open Streets During COVID-19